My Semester in Media Productions

Last year, as I was signing up for classes, the counselor mentioned that there was a class called “Video and Media Productions” that ran the announcements. I decided to sign up for the class, as it seemed like a fun way to gather new skills. Little did I know that it would introduce me to an exciting new world of editing and cameras. So many amazing things happened in this class, so many times I discovered new things or laughed until I cried. I learned so many amazing things, but three specific things really helped me develop as a person.

Firstly, the class has taught me how to work with people. Being an only child, I usually tend to do all my work myself and don’t enjoy group projects. But in this class, I quickly learned that you can’t talk on camera while also filming. I had to ask other people to hold the camera. While making a podcast, it couldn’t be only me talking. I couldn’t be the only one delivering the news on the announcements. I had to work with other people for an entire semester. Which even though wasn’t my favorite thing, I definitely learned how to work with people. This will help out in my life because there isn’t one job on the entire planet that doesn’t involve working with other people. Even in school, there are so many group projects that I will now work better in. The world is a place of cooperation, which I will now work better in. I will still prefer to work alone, but at the times when it’s necessary to work with other people, I can.

One thing that scared me a lot about this class is that I would have to be on camera in front of the entire school for the announcements. At first I was kind of scared of it, but I quickly learned that it’s not bad at all. Last year, there was no way in the world that I would get in front of the camera the way I did this past semester. This class boosted my confidence about being filmed on camera, and also my confidence about doing something that I’m not particularly comfortable with. I realize now that somethings aren’t as bad as I’ve built them up in my mind to be. This will help me in life because there will be many times when I’ll have to do something that’s out of my comfort zone. For me, some of those things that are out of my comfort zone are basic things like going to a job interview or telling someone I’m not able to do something. Those are necessary to life, that I will inevitably face at times of my life. This class has made it easier for me to do those things.

Throughout this semester, I also learned how to operate cameras and use editing software such as VideoPad. It seems arbitrary that I would use this in my life, but this class has opened my eyes to another career that I might be pursuing in the future. I’ve wanted to be a paleontologist for the past 2 years, but I’ve been losing interest in doing that. Being in this class, I’ve had so much fun developing ideas for what to film, and then being able to film it and edit it to be exactly what I wanted. Seeing my vision come together like that in front of my own eyes is absolutely amazing. I want to be able to incorporate that into my future career somehow. Whether I be a camera operator for a TV show or writing screenplays or editing movies, I want some part of my future career to involve cameras and editing. These things will help me out in life because I want them to be my life. I want to be able to have a future that heavily involves these skills.

Being in this class as not only influenced my future self, but also improved my present self. I’ve learned so much through these past these three months that will affect me so much in life. But most of all, in this class I had so much fun. Everyone in the class is amazing and they made taking this risky class worth it. This class was a really great experience, and I’m going to miss it next semester.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top
Skip to toolbar