Dyslexia

Dyslexia is a language learning “disability”. Dyslexia refers to a small group of symptoms, which result in people having difficulties with specific language skills, particularly reading, writing and math. Students with dyslexia usually experience difficulties with other language skills such as spelling, writing, and pronouncing words. Dyslexia affects people throughout their lives; however, its impact can change at different stages in a person’s life. It is referred to as a learning “disability” because dyslexia can make it very difficult for a student to succeed academically and will qualify a student for special education, special accommodations, or extra support.

About 13-14% of the school population nationwide has a “handicapping” condition that qualifies them for special education. Well, I am Dyslexic and it has always affected me though out my life. Usually when I tell people I am dyslexic they feel bad for me, but it has been proven that some dyslexics stand out in sports and may be weak in some areas and amazing in others. For an example I’m not the smartest kid and I don’t do so well in school but I strive in the social game and sports.

Sure I’ve been tutored I’ve met other dyslexics and I’ve watched movies on it seems that a lot of dyslexics almost want people to feel bad for them but I on the other hand tell everyone I meet that i am dyslexic and I’ve never tried to hide it and I hate it when people feel bad for me about it, it’s just a thing that I’ve had to live and deal with all my life, I actually enjoy being dyslexic  it’s something for me to be proud of and it just so happens that it’s not a bad of a talking subject with girls. But in the end I’m glad I am dyslexic and if you are reading this and you are dyslexic, well you just need to keep your head up and not give in and try to have fun with it because eventually you’re going to be glad you have it.

 

Information and Help for Dyslexia. N.p., n.d. Web. 10 Apr. 2013

Education and Research, 23 Aug. 2011. Web. 10 Apr. 2013

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top
Skip to toolbar