Mr. Decker’s favorite year! 2011(:

Experiences and Mistakes are what make up a person’s personality. In Mr. Decker’s 2nd semester 2011 Media productions class, plenty of mistakes were made. This class has seen me grow a lot as a person when it comes to technology, and responsibility.

The year started out in chaos. I didn’t know what I was doing, and that attracted me towards a little thing called slacking. My group’s first rotation was the announcements, and I really didn’t want to be on camera. At first, we got in trouble a few times, because we are not allowed to be funny. A sense of humor distracts students from the exciting chore of thinking!

When I finally got to be behind the scenes for the announcements, my mind soaked up quite a few new tricks. My favorite trick that I learned is cutting and editing videos. It can be a fun and useful tool. Watch the video to see what I mean.

In Podcasts, I learned how much of a pain in the tooth radio people have as a job. It takes a lot of time and effort to think up small talk and interviews.  That was probably my least favorite of the rotations that we had to do.

Commercials were pretty fun, and it helped me keep updated with what was going around the school. This is when I really started getting involved in the class, and learned what exactly I was doing.  I picked up the talent of being able to take videos, upload them, and turn them into an interesting commercial, if not funny. I also re-learned movie-maker, which is such a fun application.

The blog was definitely my favorite assignment. I picked up some more journalizing skills, and also got to write about things that interested me. I like writing, because there is never “nothing to talk about.” Thankfully, whenever I did run out of ideas, I’d get hurt or sick, and BAM! It’s an inspiration. I got all my articles done on time, and they were pretty okay if I do say so myself.

Mr. Decker’s class taught me a lot, and it was really fun. My only regret is that he’s a good teacher, and remembers cookies. We are bad students, and forget the root beer floats. Trust me, the guilt is gut wrenching. I am pretty sure every skill I learned will be useful to me in the future, especially the blog. It was a great year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top
Skip to toolbar