My Media Productions Story: Ellie Schroeder

“Hmm, what about Video and Media Productions?” I asked myself as I flipped through the class option booklet. “That could be fun.” When I marked this class as a possible elective in February, I had no idea that I’d actually be in it. In fact, I’d completely forgotten about it, until I received my schedule in August. “Media Productions? What is that?” Initially, I was nervous. I was decent working with computers; my friends and family would often come to me for help. But was it enough to get me through a semester making videos?

When I walked in my first day, my heart was beating so fast. I don’t even know why I was nervous honestly. I guess it was just because I was coming from Holy Family, a small school with prestigious know-it-all kids. This was so different. There were only about 40 kids in my eighth grade class. Now I’d see new people everyday walking through the hallways. I quietly slinked into a seat in the second row. Instantly, we started learning. For the first week or so, we were taught how to use all the programs needed to create everything. Mr. Decker was very helpful and patient with all of us. I improved my editing skills a lot to the point where I feel pretty confident to create some cool things. I know in the future it will come in handy for me to make school projects, or score a job.

Pretty soon after the teaching portion, we’d have to put ourselves in groups. At first, this was awkward. No one really knew each other, and if they did they were only acquaintances. Luckily I chose some really awesome people that I’ve now become good friends with. I was so worried about how to function. I wanted these people to like me. I was already stressed about finding my way around, let alone socializing. However, working with strangers benefited me, as I grew to get used to my new environment and be more outgoing. I also learned some new teamwork strategies and how to manage my time. Plus, I gained some recognition by representing the school. These skills are important to have because they will help me when I need to interview to get a job, or hold a leadership position.

Speaking of leadership positions, Media-Productions allowed me to take control and be my own boss. When assigned a task, I was able to go straight to work ad create my own plan. Mr. Decker would give us helpful suggestions, but encouraged us to design something original. My favorite thing to do was probably interviews. Having the responsibility to write my own questions and ask people them was exciting. I’d always liked public-speaking, but this was new for me. If I ever become a newscaster or have to be interviewed for my job, or present a speech/idea, this experience will give me an extra boost.

Originally, I signed up for this class filled with anxiety. But in the end, I took this class and enjoyed doing what I love, while meeting new people who share my passion. I found my strengths through a creative outlet. I can confidently say this class, semester and experience will be an unforgettable part of my high school and life journey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top
Skip to toolbar