Final Space: a TV Comedy You’ll Enjoy

Today we will be discussing Final Space, a TV show I’ve grown rather fond of. To start off, this show is positively fantastic. I’ve never been more blown away by any cartoon in my life. It destroyed the border of episodic and story-telling, not only doing both, but making it fit so well to create a thrilling sci-fi story I’m proud to claim as my favorite show of all time. Even after rewatching both seasons about five times, it hits me just as hard as the first time I watched it. I’ve found myself telling everyone I know about this show. And with that, I have them experience the same roller coaster of emotions I did. 

Final Space is alarmingly underrated. I hardly know anyone that has discovered the show without my help. Which is extremely sad, because this show deserves far more recognition than it’s receiving. The story is so well written that it manages to make you laugh and then cry within the next second. It’s not abrupt about it either. It’s smooth and fitting. Adam Barnhardt pretty much says just the same thing in his article named Final Space is the Best Show no One Talks About, “Final Space is surprisingly dark and gut-wrenching, evoking some tear-jerking moments that are most certainly surprising” (Barnhardt). If you’re looking for the kind of show that will break your heart and make you laugh all at the same time, Final Space is the one.

Not to mention the designs are incredible. The first character I was introduced to accidentally a couple years back, was Kvn. His design was so eye catching and pleasing that it forced me to look more into Final Space. And I’m sure glad I did. Even the background characters you see from time to time have incredibly unique and amazing designs. The colors are all so fitting too. No matter how outfitting a design in a certain setting may be, the colors used makes it fit right in. It doesn’t ruin the mood or destroy the message.

Moving on from designs of characters etc, the personalities are also breathtaking. Gary, especially, brightens every scene he’s in. He might be a little annoying and plays dumb, but he is in fact very street smart in his own ways and actually has an intriguing story. He isn’t just some idiotic bastard. He has much more to him. His personality and character is complex, just like how every strong main character should have.

This is a smaller analysis, but I love how there’s a lot of tying details to small events that happen throughout the story. Such as the Dewinters. Gary unintentionally ruined the Dewinter family in episode 2, season 1, and they end up getting brought back up in season 2 on multiple occasions. Another example is The Lord Commander happened to be Jack, John Goodspeed’s best buddy and co-pilot. 

I could go on and on why Final Space is absolutely brilliant. In fact, I’m thinking about doing so while writing this conclusion. Though, I won’t because this paper is long enough as is. Final Space is incredibly inspiring for me as an artist, writer, and graphic designer in training. I’m so glad I accidentally stumbled upon it in 2018, and I’m here to influence you to check it out yourself. Dave Trumbore even influences you to as well in his article, Final Space review: A Dark and Tragic Space Odyssey Disguised as a Comedy Series, Final Space is worth the watch to find out more.” (Trumbore) If you love Rick and Morty, Disenchantment, Star Trek, or even Star Wars, you’ll fall even more in love with Final Space. Look into it, and I promise you, you won’t regret it one bit.

Trumbore, Dave. “’Final Space’ Review: A Dark and Tragic Space Odyssey Disguised as a Comedy Series.” Collider, 24 Sept. 2019, collider.com/final-space-review-tbs/#images.

ComicBook. “Final Space Is the Best Show No One Talks About.” TV Shows, ComicBook.com, 23 June 2019, comicbook.com/tv-shows/2019/06/23/final-space-best-show-no-one-talks-about/.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top
Skip to toolbar